Julius Caesar

mpbooks: We have Maya Papaya stationed in Rome on the 15th of March. We are hoping that Caesar will pass this way on his way to the Senate. Over to you Maya.

Papaya: Yes I am here stationed where Caesar passes every day on his way to the Senate. He should be com…

Soothsayer: Beware the Ides of March!

Papaya: Excuse me?

Soothsayer: Beware the Ides of March!

(Soothsayer runs off)

Caesar: Was that guy bothering you?

Papaya: Uh, no, not really, he just kept on saying…

Caesar: Beware the Ides of March yeah, I know he was saying the same thing to me earlier. Not sure what he means by that. My wife had a scary dream about me being killed last night. Not sure what that means either. It’s probably not important.

Papaya: Probably. So where are you off too?

Casear: The Senate. Some guy who hates me told me to go there today and I  trust him explicity.

Papaya: Sounds legit. Bye! Have fun being crowned king!

Caesar: Thank you! I will!

Papaya: Well there seems no point in staying here any longer. Over to you mp…

(distant shouting and screaming)

Papaya: Wait a second. I’m going to see what’s going on.

(sees Antony n the distance)

Papaya: Antony! Mark Antony

(Antony sees Papaya and walks over)

Papaya: What’s wrong? What happened?

Antony: They killed him! One by one they stabbed him.

Papaya: Killed who?

Antony: Caesar! They murdered Caesar in cold blood! And now they might kill me too. Everyone knows we were friends.

Papaya: That’s awful.

Antony: I need to go back and pretend that I’m on their side if I want to live. But they  might kill me as soon as I step in the  door. I need to send someone to tell them  that I’m not angry with them. But who? You wouldn’t be interested would you?

Papaya: Am I interested in going into the midst of a bunch of murderers? Of course I am! Just tell me what to say.

Antony; Okay. Tell them that I’m upset about the murder of my friend but I’m willing to hear them out. I sent you because I was afraid. If they are willing to talk to me tall them to send you to me and I will come.

Papaya: Well it looks like I have a job! Over to you mpbooks.

Leave a Reply

